Daily Prompt: Celebrate Good Times

fireworks

Celebrate Good Times

You receive some wonderful, improbable, hoped-for good news. How do you celebrate? 

The time hits 11:50. The professor gives the class their assignment for the day. Everyone heads out as I wait for the class to thin out. A few students remain to ask the teacher a few follow up questions.

I pack my laptop and get ready to leave when my phone begins to ring. It is from an unknown number so I answer it curiously. On the other end a man asks if they are speaking to Edward Cuevas. I reply, “this is Edward speaking.”

Then in an energetic voice he says, “congratulations your hard work and dedication has led to an in person conference with some of the top CEOs in America, there will be a car to pick you up tomorrow morning to bring you to the airport, we begin mentoring tomorrow. Sleep well and your future has promise.” The news is incredible.

Out of 1,000,000 applications only 10 were accepted to become mentored by the best of the best in business. I can barely contain myself.

I walk bristly back to my car and call my friends. I tell them we must celebrate tonight.

To celebrate tonight I call up all my closest friends and we drink around the table talking about what the future holds for us. We sing and dance. We play card games and joke around. A small social gathering but all the people that truly matter to me are there. Life is good and it can only get better.

The opportunity is here in America. I believe we must knock on a few doors and get a few nos’ before the right doors begin to open. Time moves to fast where opportunities come and go within seconds so don’t wait for them to come to you instead go out and knock on a few doors and raise your chances for success.

***Celebration: n. The action of marking one’s pleasure at an important event or occasion by engaging in enjoyable, typically social, activity.

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/25/daily-prompt-celebration/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

