Daily Prompt: Stands Still

hand

Stands Still

For a moment today, time stands still – but you can tweak one thing while it’s stopped. What do you do? 

I am in Politics of Inequality class. Time stops but I am the only one who can move. It’s a foreign feeling but I adapt quickly.

I don’t know how long this moment will remain. I move people’s arms up and down with no reply just the stillness of their eyes staring blankly into space. I contemplate for a moment of something to do.

Do I scare the class with a writing on the board or do I do something funny and put someone on the spot. The possibilities are endless. Eventually it hits me. I know exactly what to do.

I decide to write on the board; not to scare anyone due to superstition, not to be funny by writing a smart ass remark instead I write something for the class to think about. Something of value for the limited time I have of a room of complete immobility .

I leave the class and time starts again. What is left on the board leaves the class something to ponder. It says, “BE THE CHANGE YOU WISH TO SEE IN THE WORLD.”

***Stillness: “the still of the night”

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/daily-prompt-stillness/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

