Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect?

piano

Practice Makes Perfect

Tell us about a talent you’d love to have… but don’t. 

There is a talent I possess but I am in the process of mastering it. The talent is playing the piano. For the past two years I have read books, self-learned through Youtube videos, and taught myself some of the principles of playing the piano. After hitting wall after wall I did not give up.

In the two year period I learned scales, how to sight read sheet music, how to construct chord progressions, and how to play arpeggios. However through my autodidact learning I realized I skipped important fundamental principles that limit me now. To help overcome these bad habits and knowledge gaps I have decided to find a mentor. Hopefully he will be able to give me the knowledge to make quicker connections in composing music of my own.

***Talent: n. 1) Natural aptitude or skill. 2) A former weight and unit of currency, used esp. by the ancient Romans and Greeks.

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/daily-prompt-talent/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

