Daily Prompt: Thank You

2013-09-15 15.03.22

Thank You

The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone). 

I am thankful for my family. I grew up with an interesting upbringing. Raised by four generations; my great grandparents, my grandparents, my parents, and siblings all in the same house. The house I was conceived in and raised for the first 18 years of my life. I have three siblings; two older sisters and one younger brother. My brother is 10 months younger than me and we were both born in the same year.

I am thankful for my extended family. My great grandparents had 18 kids. In which 15 of them grew up to become adults and have children of their own. My grandma is the oldest daughter of the 18 children.  In which my father is the oldest son of my grandma’s four children.

My father was and still is the bread winner to our family. Born in the Philippines  raised with love and discipline; he became a doctor, researcher, army man, husband, father, founder of the PNW chapter of Beta Sigma, founder of Journal Club, and president of several different profound organizations.

My mother is a loving soul who gives unconditional support and encouragement to pursue our dreams and passions. During my upbringings she was my counselor, nurse, teacher, and caregiver.  She enjoys the simple things in life like planting a seed to watching it sprout and eventually grow and blossom into a beautiful rose. She is a sweetheart and has enough energy compiled into her to make the world blow up 10 times over.

My siblings and I grew up in a tight community of friends and family members. We indulged our time in community events, church (sunday school), school events, and memorable parties.

I am thankful for my upbringing, education, family, and life. The freedom to make our own choices and know that only I am morally responsible for the actions I make. I can therefore I will.

***Thanks: n. An expression of gratitude.

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/daily-prompt-thanks/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

