Daily Prompt: What a Twist!

space ship

What a Twist!

Tell us a story – fiction or non-fiction – with a twist we can’t see coming. 

You wake up. Dirt everywhere. Your ears are ringing, your vision blurred. You forget where you are. Bodies everywhere. Motionless.

“Private, snap out of it,” squad leader pulls me to cover. “I do not give you permission to die, is that clear?”

He shakes me hard and repeats, “Is that clear, private.” I respond, “Sir, yes, sir.” He hands me my gun and my senses begin to return, slowly but surely.

Just a few months ago. I was a normal kid. My only worries were passing AP classes, wrestling, and girls. I was a 160 pound wrestler with light brown hair, and dark brown eyes. I was the captain of the wrestling team, 3 time state placer and predicated to be state champion before They Arrived.

When They Arrived it was sudden. I was in my AP Gov class taking a practice exam. Then the sky went dark. The lights began to flicker rapidly. At first I thought it was a brown out then the sound came. A long hollow tone, it didn’t sound human. It wasn’t human. Students rushed to the window side, mouths open, fingers pointing.

My gun is in my hand. It is part of me and I with it. Pop, pop, pop. The sound of the M16 goes as kids age 8-18 shoot oncoming targets on the field. There are no adults anymore. They were all taken or killed.

“Hold fire, I repeat hold fire,” shouts out the squad leader. The shooting stops. The targets retreat, no longer advancing.

Then just as quick as they arrived they are gone. Erasing 95% of the human race without a single reason. Lives ruined, lives changed.

“Oncoming star battleship,” reports Space Crew. “Is it one of ours?” asks Space Commander. “No, its incoming quick. What shall we do?”

Then an incoming call comes from the unknown star battleship. “This is a message from the Galactic Space Committee. You have no authorization to siege an attack on planet Earth against the human race.”

Space Commander then responds with a full force attack on the Galactic Space Committee star battleship.

The sky lights up in luminescent colors. Red shots coming from one direction hitting a force field of blue. Then return fire. The sky battle seems to go on for days. Humans everywhere uncertain whats happening.

Eventually it all ends. No answers given to the eradication of most of the human race. Just death. Fear instilled in the young and theories form of what just happened.

It is time to rebuild. The planet, Earth remains ours for now but for how long?

***Surprise: n. 1) An unexpected or astonishing event, fact, or thing. 2) Denoting a class of complex methods of change-ringing. v. (Of something unexpected) cause (someone) to feel mild astonishment or shock.

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/daily-prompt-surprise/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

