Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

identity

Name that… You!

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names? 

I know the meaning of my name. My parents chose it for several reasons. I am junior to my father. The name, Edward in history means “rich guard,” derived from the Old English elements ead “rich, blessed” and weard “guard.” In the Filipino culture I have two first names. My second first name is Gabriel. I was given this name because of the angel, Gabriel. The name, Gabriel in history means “strong man of God,” who was one of the seven archangels in Hebrew tradition. I believe my first name suits me well. I consider myself very blessed. I try to protect those who are less fortunate and those who cannot protect themselves by playing the devils advocate in every situation. I am also a strong believer in God. I do not take the stories in the bible literally, I believe they are lessons to be learned and provide good morals and values to stand by.  For the world is a dangerous place and the bible leads people to the light, towards a just and righteous world. I have no children and have not given much thought to their names yet.

***Identity: n. 1) The fact of being who or what a person or thing is. 2) A close similarity or affinity.

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/daily-prompt-identity/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt
One comment on “Daily Prompt: Name that… You!
  1. […] Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Edward Cares […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

