Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back

proud

Pat on the Back

Tell someone you’re proud of just how proud you are.

I am proud of my father for being a productive member of society and raising me as his son. I consider my father to be a great man. He has accomplished so many things in his life and is respected by many. A little bit of my fathers history and why I so highly respect him.

Born in the Philippines, he grew up with many aspirations. He graduated with honors in his class and received a bachelors in the arts with a psychology degree. After college he attended med school. At the age of 28 he moved to the United States with my mother and eagerly looked for work. Having a doctorates from the Philippines his foreign education was not considered at par with American education so he joined the army so his daughter would not be born off welfare. After serving his time he was given his big break and a job offering opened. He moved from New York to Washington and began working vigorously. Eventually he would open his own private business and tend to the people’s needs. Several years later a son was born.

That son was me. From the birth of his firstborn son until now I have seen him receive awards and accomplish tremendous things. My father started his own chapter in the Pacific Northwest of a fraternity, Beta Sigma he joined during his college years in the Philippines. In this fraternity he became the president for a reigning 8 years and is known to be the most prosperous of chapters. My father also was the president of Filipino-American Physicians of Washington (FAPWA). He has also done research programs and does lectures all around the United States on important subjects. He is in the Who’s Who in the World and in America books. All of these accomplishments make me proud to be his son and I see promise in myself if I am able to follow his footsteps. My father is a successful man and a productive member of society. One day I wish to achieve such greatness and respect.

***Success: n. 1) The accomplishment of an aim or purpose. 2) The attainment of popularity or profit.

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/31/daily-prompt-success-2/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

