Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled

road

The Road Less Traveled

Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

My freshman year in high school I was given the chose to live with my sister for a year in a completely new place. The reason was because I was started to associate myself with the wrong crowd of people and my father was concerned for my well-being. Seeing the discomfort I was bringing to my parents I decided to take the alternative path and went to a new school with no friends or family besides my oldest sister who was currently in her last year of college.

The other alternative life that I would have lived would have been a troublesome one. The friends I associated myself with were bad news. Being kids and not understanding the value of earning things we were of a destructive sort. We found entertainment through breaking things and causing mayhem. Maybe it was because we were engulfed in video games like Grand Theft Auto and Call of Duty when we were younger and the new earned freedom made us feel invincible. The constant taunts, dares, and you won’t do it though proved to take the better of us as we constantly tried to one up each other. So leaving seemed to be the best option.

Never the less the stories I heard from my friends upon my visits back to my hometown were crazy from shooting air soft guns at strangers to breaking down doors and blowing fire works in public areas. In school there was a drug epidemic where several groups were caught in a Facebook scandal involving ecstasy. Fights raged on over petty matters like name calling over xbox live and people cheating on one another. I remind you this was ninth grade in high school and nothing was off limits to us. The price of living in a rich city with too much freedom, we had nothing better to do but gossip and do drugs.

***Other: adj. 1) Used to refer to a person or thing that is different or distinct from one already mentioned or known about. 2) The alternative of two.

In response to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/daily-prompt-other/

Born and raised in University Place, repping the 253

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

